PDA

View Full Version : track day question

STRETCH
04-15-2009, 07:52 PM
I'd like to do a track day this year but I've never done one before and don't know where to start. If anyone has experience I'd apreciate some advice.
I've got 2 piece leathers (slightly rashed), Sidi boots, good gloves and snel certified helmet. what else will I require?
what track do you recomend? what kind of fees should i expect? do you have to be a member of a group or do some tracks have a type of open track day?
what should be removed or safety wired before hand?
I thank you in advance for any advice.

Bucky
04-15-2009, 08:14 PM
I have never attended a track day. A track school may be a better choice -- instruction for those new to the track and seeking to improve street skills.

Try these links:

http://www.foreven.com/trackdod/NoviceGuide/

http://www.sportbikes.net/sportbiketracknovicerecap.html

http://www.nesba.com/Info/Typical.htm
http://www.nesba.com/Info/Forms.htm

Justin
04-15-2009, 08:34 PM
Hopefully, the leathers have a zip together for 360 degree, or thereabouts. And sometime the gloves need to be gauntlet style/over the cuffs.

Although a bit of a drive, I was just at JenningsGP in Jennings, FL two months ago. Fantastic track and the weather was comfortable for being Feb in FL. The track coaches showed the curves for the first two sessions, beyond that it was mostly on your own, but I was not part of a "school" sign-up either. My fiancee was at Little Talladega a year ago through Elite Sportbikes. The track was a shorter one, great for first times and learning... and the coaches for the novice class were fantastic. Even though I wasn't riding, I attended all the classes during intermission. And those classes continues through and after lunchtime, albeit getting shorter as the day went on. Looks like they are doing Carolina Motorsports this summer, much closer than Alabama. The day will cost between $125-160 for track fees.